Letters To My Mother
Letters To My Mother Podcast
Chasing the Sun
12
0:00
-12:46

Chasing the Sun

He met me at the airport and immediately whipped my sunglasses off my face to clean them. He cannot bear dirty glasses. I laughed. I had not been able to catch up with him for years ...
12

Recording today from Melbourne, Australia. I am out on the little patio in the garden. Melbournites have beautiful little gardens out in the front of their houses with a well manicured pathway to the door. And secret corners out the back. I love their houses too with the porches and trees.  It is sunny but cool and quiet down here in the cup de sac. You might hear a few birds and maybe a dog or two but basically this is suburban. I do look forward to hearing all the midwest birds when I get back to the farm out in Illinois but that's not for a while yet. 

For the moment I am travelling. Doing the rounds of my family -  I am of an age where I can move from home to home doing my childrens gardens and cooking all their favourite foods. It is an old fashioned mothers way. And we love the old fashioned ways using new found technology so I can work on the road. 

My kids  want all the old food - food my mother and grandmother used to make. Meatloaf and shepherds pie and lasagne, scalloped potatoes, things like that.  Ordinary food. The food they grew up on with a solo Mum with too many kids, two jobs and not enough money. Those were brutal and brilliant times. But not for this podcast. Not today

Thank you for listening to my podcasts by the way and for subscribing. This is a member supported podcast and you are so important to the process. 

My home made muesli is cooking in my daughter's kitchen - I can smell it from out here - the oats and the nuts and seeds, roasting quietly, she is away. At work. I write. And cook. And talk to you. 

Before I left New Zealand and on my way to my daughters house, here in Melbourne,  I popped in to see my brother for a few days. 

He met me at the airport and immediately whipped my sunglasses off my face to clean them. He cannot bear dirty glasses. I laughed. I had not been able to catch up with him for a few years due to covid and so forth but there he was  - we fell into our old childhood roles; the rhythm of older sister and little brother -  without a pause, a blink or even a seconds thought …cont’d on thekitchensgarden.com

Thank you so much for listening.

Thank you so much for sharing.

And thank you so much for subscribing. You are my stars.

Cecilia

12 Comments
Letters To My Mother
Letters To My Mother Podcast
Cecilia from The Kitchens Garden reads about growing up in a Simpler Time.